WWMD/WWDD and Teenagers

I like using the question, “What would Jesus Do?” when  I am in a tough spot and have to make a decision. This question can be really helpful as long as I know the right example or verse from the Bible to apply to my situation. Sometimes I do, and other (most) times I have no idea what Jesus or one of his followers would do in a similar or parallel situation.

At this point, I switch it to “What Would Mom/Dad do?” My parents are both people I want to grow up and be like. They are great Christian examples and I probably use WWDD/WWMD a lot more than they think. Sometimes it is subconscious, but I definitely follow their example more than their words.

After reading this, I would think parents are thinking something to the effect of, “That is really sweet but then why did my kid do this? What about that other situation?

I’ll give an example: Teenagers are often known to dye their hair and get tattoos/piercings.

Parents often don’t understand this. At all. Parents wonder why their kids would do all these crazy things to their body.

The angle parents should consider is thus: Sometimes the changes kids make to their appearance are reflective of the changes going on inside of them. Changes such as the fact that they are losing some of the childishness, going through puberty, trying to fit in, making important decisions.

So while teenagers are going through these changes inside them and noticing inevitable ones around them, they may need a way to express themselves. They may need a way to get across to the world that everything is not the same as it used to be.

These changes are probably making the children more like their parents.

So it is possible, in a more potent situation, that a tattoo can mean a child is just one step closer to becoming like their parent. Maybe that piercing means that the child is becoming older. Probably that new hair color is just one of the ways teens are expressing themselves.

All the while, when these changes are being made, the teenagers just might be thinking, “What would my parents do?”

Write a comment!

