Not Quite Over Them: Lunchables

Image

Recently, someone I know here at college was talking about how she had eaten a Lunchable for dinner. I replied with something like, “That’s cool, those are so good!”

Inwardly, though, I was thinking, I am so over those. I mean, who has money for Lunchables these days? I certainly don’t spend my hard-earned money on them!

I forgot about that conversation until today, when I was making myself lunch. Then, I realized that I was slightly hypocritical. I mean, my lunch resembles a Lunchable a little too closely…

The picture to the left is my lunch. (Yeah, I like Spiderman. And cool napkins.)

I think the idea originally came from my Mom after my Dad mentioned the exorbitant price of Lunchables. My Mom then got creative and would not simply cut me up some meat and cheese but would use fun-shaped cookie cutters to cut them! I had butterfly ham and Christmas tree cheese for lunch. Way better than boring old squares. It was the best.

I guess the habit just may have stuck with me…excuse me while I go buy myself a flower-shaped cookie-cutter.

3 thoughts on “Not Quite Over Them: Lunchables

  1. tcar@comcast.net says:

    I love this one, because I loved making those shapes for you.

    mom

  2. Funny. I used to make sandwiches in shapes for my daughter.

Write a comment!

